Arduino

Noob here.
Can some one please post the Arduino code to control one of the servos on the Hexy? I figure from this I should be able to figure out how to control the rest and maybe even get the thing to walk. I like the PoMoCo software, but I am interested in learning how to control the Hexy through the Arduino application.

Thanks!

The difficulty with a stock arduino is that the stock servo library (and the hardware, I believe) doesn’t support the amount of servos required to run Hexy. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe that’s why Joseph’s Servotor32 has a different architecture and different servo library.

I’m using an Arduino Nano (great board, clones off ebay for less than a tenner) and the Pololu Maestro board. I like this combination very much. It has similar software to PoMoCo, but can control acceleration and speed as well as position. Also, with repsect to Joseph, no servo shake. The Arduino is programmable using C, and communicates with the Pololu Maestro using a simple protocol. You can find a straightforward example of this sort of setup (without the speed and acceleration, which I’m working on) at this link: orangenarwhals.blogspot.co.uk/20 … -mini.html

Thanks. So, if I understand your post then I should install PoLoLu Maestro and try my hand at controlling and programming the Hexy through this as opposed to the Arduino interface.

Not saying you should, just proposing a way of working if you want to use a stock arduino.

The Pololu Maestro board uses a picaxe processor, and is programmable using a simple forth-like language through a development environment that comes with it. Like an arduino, but different… It is also like the Servotor32 in that it has a PoMoCo-like piece of software that runs on your computer and controls the servo movement over a serial interface.