Just built Hexy, now troubleshooting

Hey guys, beginner here, and I’ve just finished building Hexy and am eager to start playing around with it. However, it’s not really moving much at all. It whirls a bit, maybe one leg will move, but the others just stay still. A quick scan around the forums suggests that it might be battery problems. But it’s real late here and I’m going to leave the troubleshooting to tomorrow or something. Meantime, a quick question to help get started.

I’m thinking, should there be a specific order in which one plugs the servos in? Like, which servo of which leg should go into which numbered socket on the servo32 board? It seems like that should matter (or at least, one should remember which servo went into which socket?) This must be a real beginner question, so thanks in advance for your patience! :smiley:

Regards,
XJ

Yup, sounds like low batteries.

Connection diagram is in the build guide, part 3.7:
arcbotics.com/products/hexy/star … e-hexapod/
Here’s a shortcut to the image:
flickr.com/photos/arcbotics/9656905215/

Thank you roboalchemist!

Turns out the solution is to get some sleep! I plugged the servotor32 board in backwards, so all my legs were…doing strange things :laughing:

Hey guys, a couple of questions if you will!

One of the servos on hexy went out. Like the rotation does not have the slight resistance you’d get when you turn it around. It’s probably dead now and I’d have to replace it with the spare one. I’m just wondering though, if there are more robust serovs I can get, in case the others die as well? And if there are, what model and make I should be looking at?