Sparki has a crook in it's neck

I am not sure why or how, but the sparki servo is no longer centering correctly.

It was initially, but ever since trying to get Robo Realm to work (which my little boy and I eventually got working - impressive radar display!), and then trying to load the default program back on, it seems that Sparki loves jamming his head to the left regardless of what we tell it to do.

We tried uploading the servo example, and when executing that program, it briefly cricks it’s neck to a left 45^ position at most, and then back all the way to the left (with a jammy servo sound - like it wants to go further than -90).

Is there some default factory loaded offset value that got messed up? I’m not a coder, but from digging around it looks like the initial offset is on the EEPROM perhaps? Not sure what to do to fix this, but we didn’t get much play time in before this issue.

Basically it seems like SERVO_LEFT<-90, SERVO_CENTER=-90, and SERVO_RIGHT=-45 or thereabouts.

In sum, HELP!? My poor sparki has whiplash. Reset button didn’t seem to help either.

1 Like

Had the same problem. The RANGE FINDER head is out of position, meaning SERVO_CENTER is actually not in the “0” center position in your case “-90”. The fix I did was to command the servo to SERVO_CENTER “0”, turn power off on Sparki, and then un-screw and repostion the RANGE FINDER head to face the front “0” position.Screw back the RANGE FINDER head and now works as commanded.

Thanks ortsac.

I did as you suggested, and sparki’s head now faces forward so great! Unfortunately, the range of motion is still comprimised.

Thinking something was messed up with the servo, I replaced it with one of the servos from my unassembled hexy kit.

Same issue! I don’t know what is going on.

Basically, a -90 is actually about a -5, a 0 is also a -5, and 90 is about 40 at most.

I spoke with Arcbotics via chat, and they’re also clueless. Don’t know what to do at this point.